Question of timing

Is there an easy way of accessing the clock oscillator on an Atmega 168 Diecimila, please? Probing around the pins (even 9 & 10) produce no trace on a 20MHz scope, even at high gain. I'd prefer not to make non reversible changes to the hardware. Yes, I'm a noob! Thanks, Martin

Well you're looking on the correct pins and if your board is working at all (ie runs code) you should see the clock on those pins.

I am assuming that your oscilloscope, probe and Arduino board are known to be good and work properly and you have programmed the fuses in the ATmega168 correctly (or at lease have not changed them from the Arduino default!)

Crystal oscillator clock signals can be difficult things to observe because they are not typical logic level signals, usually more of a distorted sine wave than a square wave.

Have you connected the oscilloscope probe ground to the board? The usb connector body, side tab of the DC socket or a small piece of wire in the GND pin in the power socket will do, and you'll get a much better measurement if you do.

What is the input impedance of your oscilloscope probe? Anything less than 10 MOhm might cause problems by changing the load on the amplifier in the oscillator which could cause it to stop. If the board keeps working properly while you probe for the clock, then this is not the problem.

What horizontal resolution/time base have you set the oscilloscope to? Somewhere in the order of 50 to 100 nsec per division is what you'll need.

What vertical resolution/voltage have you set the oscilloscope to? Around 2 to 5 V per division is what you'll need. You should see the clock on both sides of the crystal Q2, one side (pin 10) will be larger and squarer than the other. This is the output pin driving the crystal, the other pin (pin 9) is the input to the ATmega168.