Question regarding permanent project

I hope this is the right place to post, I'm just getting into micro controllers and code my question is I don't seem to see any permanant sensors on the market for instance the temp and humidity sensor DHT22 it doesn't seem to be weatherproof many other sensors seem to be only for proof of concept am I missing something here.

Say I made a project on a breadboard and want to finalize it do the sensors that come with kits actually get used or is there another source for these. I have purchased a few controllers and shields such as a screw shield for a more permanent solution but I think I must be missing something no?

Depends on what your ultimate goal is. YOU are building the project, so there will always be different items to address. Otherwise, you are just buying a turn key product, right?

Those modules are good for proof of concept and learning, and in most instances can be used for the end product if space allows. Pins can be removed and wires soldered in. Enclosures need to be made. You can also purchase the components and design your own circuit board and have it made for a small fee. You can also buy breakout boards and screw them to a backboard and connect them as you wish.

Try looking at Adafruit.com and Sparkfun. They carry a whole line of shields, hats, modules, breakouts, kitchen sinks etc. They also provide tutorials on how to use and code for their products, along with tech specs (important), unlike much of the stuff on ebay. There, you're on your own.

Hi,
If you are looking at production or using the sensors in the environment and want them to survive their surroundings for long lengths of time, then you will need to go to industrial grade sensors.
This is where the cost escalates and some need maintenance and regular expensive calibration.

You can provide protection for the smaller cheaper devices, a lot of them were developed during the rise of xbox, wii and PS boxes and hence their low cost,.