Questions about programming

I'm intrigued about the different microcontrollers. There are so many!

I'm new to this. I'd like to get an Arduino, but there are so many choices of boards that it is hard to chose just one.

It's my understanding that a program keeps on repeating until the power is removed, correct? Is it possible to have user input while the program is running so that the display(I'm thinking about RGB LEDs.) will change?

I know that one can use PWM to vary the brightness of the LED, but there are fewer PWM connectors than there are digital I/O connectors. Suppose that one wants to have more PWM connectors than there are on the board. What does one do?

There's only one programming language available, correct? There's no option for JavaScript or C or C++ is there?

but there are so many choices of boards that it is hard to chose just one.

In the absence of any specific requirements choose a Uno.

It's my understanding that a program keeps on repeating until the power is removed, correct?

Yes

Is it possible to have user input while the program is running so that the display(I'm thinking about RGB LEDs.) will change?

Yes your input determines what part of the program is run, that is the art of programming.

Suppose that one wants to have more PWM connectors than there are on the board. What does one do?

Use an external chip or software that makes the others into PWM, but this latter takes processing power meaning your code can do less in a specific time.

There's only one programming language available, correct?

Yes

There's no option for JavaScript or C or C++ is there?

Yes the programming language for the Arduino is C++ and C is a subset of C++, java script however is right out.

Macnerd:
I'm intrigued about the different microcontrollers. There are so many!

I'm new to this. I'd like to get an Arduino, but there are so many choices of boards that it is hard to chose just one.