Questions about SCL SDA

Hello all,

Im new to Arduino and I'm working on a project. I have multiple sensors, a GPS (NEO-M6 ublox), gyrometer (GY-521), and a BMP085 . All require hook up to SCL and SDA. How can I connect them all to my arduino mega? using a breadboard can i designate a row as SDA and SCL?

Thank you and sry if its a basic question.
Mike

There is only one SCL and one SDA line, because it is a ‘bus’. You can connect many devices to that bus.
I’m not sure about your question, but I think you can use a row for SCL and a row for SDA.

An Arduino Mega runs at 5V, and has pull-up resistors for the I2C bus on the board. Therefor the Arduino Mega has a 5V I2C bus.
However, some of your components require a 3.3V I2C bus. I suggest you buy a I2C level shifter.

Start with the i2c scanner to see if something is connected, and try make the sensors work one by one.
http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/I2cScanner

An Arduino Mega runs at 5V, and has pull-up resistors for the I2C bus on the board.

Are you sure about this ? "on the board" or "in the chip" ?

michinyon:

An Arduino Mega runs at 5V, and has pull-up resistors for the I2C bus on the board.

Are you sure about this ? "on the board" or "in the chip" ?

In the chip, high value pull-ups to chip's VCC. It's done in the library code.

michinyon, yes I am sure. On the board, 10k for SDA and 10k for SCL.

retrolefty, I have to correct you. Open the *.brd file and see for yourself. I can only find it on my board that I have myself and in the *.brd file, the schematic is not clear about this.

The Arduino Mega 2560 is perhaps the only board that has 10k pull-up resistors on the I2C bus to +5V. It is therefor not compatible with a 3.3V I2C bus.

Beside the 10k onboard, it has the internal pullup resistors as set by the library, like with every board.

Caltoa:
michinyon, yes I am sure. On the board, 10k for SDA and 10k for SCL.