Questions about the arduino ethernet shield

HI Arduino fans. I am new to the world of arduino. I am currently a student in an EET program at my local community college. I have taken an interest in using the arduino cause it is tons of fun and it can be used for countless practical applications. Anyway I am using it to do a senior project. My project is to build a home security system.

I chose this project because my house has been burglarized a few times now and I don't have the funds to pay ADT for monthly monitoring. I am using an arduino uno to run this system. I have two door contacts, three infrared motion sensors, a keypad for a security code, and four security cameras with a DVR. I am running everything off of backup battery power so that my system will work even if there is a power outage. I have actually completed the project that I have proposed but I want to add on to it. Right now I can arm and disarm my system with the keypad and keycode. My buzzer alarm will sound and my cameras will turn on if any of my sensors are tripped.

Now I want to use an arduino ethernet shield to control my system via the internet from anywhere. I would like to be able to arm and disarm my system from my phone, also receive a Sms text whenever my alarm is going off. But I am not proficient at all when it comes to making this happen. I have done some research on the ethernet shield but have become really confused on how it works.

Here are my questions: