Questions about the upcoming Ethernet board

Hi,

I am a CS undergrad student with a background in C(++), Java and networking. However, I am totally new to the field of electronics. I have a few ideas for Arduino based projects. Naturally, a few of those ideas involve some kind of networking. So, I was excited when I heard about the new Arduino Ethernet bored (particularly the ability to use Power over Ethernet and flash programs via TFTP).

I know that the board is still in testing stages, and will not be available until sometime in (late?) October. That said, I am hoping someone from the team can answer some questions about it:

1. Will the board have a "burned in" MAC address? From what I have read about the current Ethernet shield, the MAC address is specified in the sketch. This method would be inconvenient if I want multiple boards to use the same sketch from TFTP.

2. A) What will the Micro-SD slot be used for? B) Will it be possible to use I/O on the card from a sketch (for log files or something?) C) Will the board come with a Micro-SD card?

3. Which PoE standard is in use on the board?

Thanks,

Sean W.

Not a lot of detail on this one yet, its due out later this year. So far the only official info I have seen came from this Blog entry. http://arduino.cc/blog/2010/09/24/dinner-is-ready/

The card is best for logging, but has even been used in previous ether cards to serve web pages and images.

In the meantime you can already do PoE with this shield: www.freetronics.com/ethernet-shield

Jon

Heh, I almost put a link to it, but thought I'd get hit for it GRIN

There was some talk about the ethernet board in the Video from the Maker Faire. http://vimeo.com/15310753 (at about 23 minutes in.) I didn't pay a lot of attention, but one of the comments was that it will have "real" PoE (802.3af, I assume. Wouldn't require 802.3at...)

I wouldn't think that there would be departure from Wiznet-based architecture, but I don't think they said explicitly.