Quick Pin Mapping Question

Total Newbie here. On the pin mapping diagram for the Mega2560, there are three numbers for each pin: pin number, pin name, and mapped pin name.

When I set a variable to a pin in the IDE, for instance:

int meter = 8;
//...
//...
pinMode(meter,INPUT);
// etc... etc..

Do I use the pin number or the mapped pin name (which is actually a number too, and differs from the pin number)?

Thanks!

The numbering of the pins on the ATMEL chip does not correlate to the pin numbers around the edge of the Arduino.

Use the number around the edge of the Arduino.

THanks for the response, I know what you mean. However, the pin mapping diagram doesn't say what is the chip and what is the arduino board. I haven't bought my arduino yet, so the schematics and diagrams are all I have to go by.

For instance, if on the pin mapping diagram, it was listed like this:

Pin Number: 35; Pin Name PL0; Mapped Pin Name: Digital Pin 49

(This is an actual pin on the 2560)

Which would you use to assign it to a variable, 35 or 49?

Thanks again!

Wade

35 is the Amtel pin #. D49 is the Arduino pin#.

Always use the Arduino pin #.

Perhaps the following pin mapping worksheet will help you out. Column 1 has the Arduino pin# you use in digitalRead, digitalWrite, and mode commands:

https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=rtHw_R6eVL140KS9_G8GPkA&gid=0

Lefty

123Splat: 35 is the Amtel pin #. D49 is the Arduino pin#.

Ok. That seems fine except for you wouldn't set the int to D49, you would set it to 49.

The only place where that doesn't make sense is when I am trying to set some analog pins. For instance, one analog input I would like to use is labeled like this on the pin map diagram:

pin number: 97; pin name: (ADCO)PF0; mapped pin name: Analog Pin 0

So according to that logic, I would enter this code:

//Initialize variables
int sensor = 0;         // this is the analog pin for the sensor. using the 'mapped pin name' from the pin map diagram, which is "analog pin 0."