Quick stepper.h question

Guys, A quick question or two if I may.

I am just starting out with stepper motors and Im not sure about a couple of things.

My hardware is: - Arduino Uno R3 - MA860H Driver - NEMA 34 13Nm BiPolar (4 wire) stepper motor - 60V 7.2A power supply

[u]Question 1:[/u] The Arduino Reference documents for stepper.h, particularly with reference to the Stepper Constructor says: Stepper(steps, pin1, pin2) or Stepper(steps, pin1, pin2, pin3, pin4)

My motor is a 1.8 degree stepper and so has 200 steps per revolution. The MA860H driver allows for setup of the steps per revolution upto 51200 (micro ??) steps per revolution.

Should "steps" in the constructor be 200 or whatever the driver is set to? Im thinking Id like 1600 steps per revolution and don't know if I should set steps to 200 or 1600.

[u]Question 2:[/u][/u] [u]Using Stepper.h, pin3 and pin4 don't appear to make any difference. At the moment I am only playing with the Arduino stepper examples.[/u] [u]Whats the point of pin 3 & 4 / What are they supposed to do?[/u] [u]At the moment I have pin1 and pin2 (2 & 3 on the Arduino) connected to PULS+ and PULS- on the MA860H and I can make the motor move.[/u] [u]Thanks[/u] [u]Jon[/u]

The PUL+ pin should be connected to Vcc (5V on Arduino) and PUL- to an output pin, inputs are enabled on LOW, set the steps per rev to whatever you have set on the DIP switches, for example, if you set microsteps to 4, steps per rev would be 800, see page 5 on datasheet. You only need 3 pins connected PUL, DIR and ENA + Vcc. You would probably get better performance using the Accelstepper library: http://www.airspayce.com/mikem/arduino/AccelStepper/

http://www.gbeshop.com/InfoBase/downloads/MA860H-N_User-Manual-EN.pdf

The regular Stepper library is not really suitable for a stepper driver that takes step and direction signals. Use the AccelStepper library. For that type of driver it is also easy to write code that does not need any library.