Radar Sweep

New to the forum, and hoping I have this in the right location.

I would like to show my Grandson some fun code with some LED lights. He got a kick out of seeing how the computer could control individual LEDs. I would like to take this a bit further than just lighting up a pixel or two. I'm still new to this Arduino coding; so I am hoping someone here can help.

What i have is a matrix of WS2811s. The matrix is 20 wide by 25 tall.
What I would like to do is to draw a radar sweep line from the center pixel out to the edges where it will rotate around the board.

I wouldn't think that this is too difficult, but as new as I am to the Arduino I am not sure where or how to begin to do this. I did a bit of browsing to see if I could locate an example, but came up blank... Hopefully someone here can help?!? This was one of my first things I programmed when learning MSDOS Basic language. I thought it would be fun to bring it full circle (pun intended) and learn to do it with an Arduino and LEDs.

Once I get a radar sweep going, I plan on adding in a random pixel and when the sweep hits it the surrounding lights will flash & fade.

Too difficult to start out with?!?

Thank You!

Too difficult to start out with?

A bit.
When you did it with BASIC then under the hood was the code that could draw straight lines on a screen. This is the same code you want to use on your matrix. There are several ways of doing this but one way is called the Bresenham line algorithm

But first start by writing a function that will work out the LED number for a given X and Y location. The function will depend on if you have wired the matrix as a raster or serpentine raster. Use that to plot single points. This then becomes the function that the Bresenham algorithm feeds into.

Alternatively you can just use one of these, but they will not be as fast. Line drawing algorithm