Radar with sound output for blind people

Hi , I am an eye surgeon and don’t really know anything about computers or electronics. My son would like to make a small radar device with a sound output proportional to distance so that blind people can "hear " the output. Ideally, would like some sort of servo motor that rotates the sound beam/IR beam and then outputs the result of the radar sweep as a sound wave , rather than a single tone.

I saw this ultrasonic range finder and video. http://www.sparkfun.com/products/639

but rather than having the output visually as in the video , I need an audio connection.
His aim to to train visually impaired to recognize the shape of the sound output and hence their surroundings.

Would love to hear your ideas and since either one of us knows how to proceed, we will need some detailed instructions.

thanks

rdeans: Hi , I am an eye surgeon and don't really know anything about computers or electronics. My son would like to make a small radar device with a sound output proportional to distance so that blind people can "hear " the output. Ideally, would like some sort of servo motor that rotates the sound beam/IR beam and then outputs the result of the radar sweep as a sound wave , rather than a single tone.

I saw this ultrasonic range finder and video. http://www.sparkfun.com/products/639

but rather than having the output visually as in the video , I need an audio connection. His aim to to train visually impaired to recognize the shape of the sound output and hence their surroundings.

Would love to hear your ideas and since either one of us knows how to proceed, we will need some detailed instructions.

thanks

First off, I can't give you a step-by-step, mainly because I haven't played with these ultrasonic sensors, but I can tell you what tutorials you could use to proceed. Note that this isn't a beginner's project.