Random command appearing

Hello

I am just starting to learn arduino, and i have a PS2 gamepad from lynxmotion connected to a botboarduino. I am just learning how code works and have been able to get my gamepad to “talk” to my board. I have an issue with my code, or possibly my gamepad. here is my code so far …

#include <PS2X_lib.h>  //for v1.6

PS2X ps2x; // create PS2 Controller Class

int error = 0; 

#define PS2_DAT      6        
#define PS2_CMD      7
#define PS2_SEL      8
#define PS2_CLK      9

void setup(){

Serial.begin(57600);
 delay(5000);  // give time to open monitor
  int error = ps2x.config_gamepad(PS2_CLK, PS2_CMD, PS2_SEL, PS2_DAT);  // Setup gamepad (clock, command, attention, data) pins
  Serial.print("PS2 Init: ");
  Serial.println(error, DEC);
}

void loop(){

if(error == 1) //skip loop if no controller found
  return; 

ps2x.read_gamepad();          //read controller 

// left control pad     

if(ps2x.Button(PSB_PAD_UP))          
       Serial.print("Up held  ");
     if(ps2x.Button(PSB_PAD_RIGHT))
       Serial.print("Right held  ");
     if(ps2x.Button(PSB_PAD_LEFT))
       Serial.print("LEFT held  ");
     if(ps2x.Button(PSB_PAD_DOWN))
       Serial.print("DOWN held  ");

// L1, L2, R1, R2 buttons

if(ps2x.Button(PSB_L1))
         Serial.println("L1 pressed");
        if(ps2x.Button(PSB_R1))
         Serial.println("R1 pressed");
        if(ps2x.Button(PSB_L2))
         Serial.println("L2 pressed");
        if(ps2x.Button(PSB_R2))
         Serial.println("R2 pressed");

// circle, square, x, and triangle

if(ps2x.Button(PSB_RED))             
         Serial.println("Circle pressed");
     if(ps2x.Button(PSB_PINK))             
         Serial.println("Square pressed");     
     if(ps2x.Button(PSB_BLUE))            
         Serial.println("X pressed");    
     if(ps2x.Button(PSB_GREEN))           
         Serial.println("Triangle pressed");

delay(500);

}