random light

hi all i am new to all of this but i am after some advice,i have put together my circuit board and lights etc for my project, i have the script written out as below

int led1 = 4; int led2 = 5; int led3 = 6; int led4 = 7; int led5 = 8; int led6 = 9; int led7 = 10; int led8 = 12;

void setup() { // put your setup code here, to run once: pinMode(led1,OUTPUT); pinMode(led2,OUTPUT); pinMode(led3,OUTPUT); pinMode(led4,OUTPUT); pinMode(led5,OUTPUT); pinMode(led6,OUTPUT); pinMode(led7,OUTPUT); pinMode(led8,OUTPUT); }

void loop() { // put your main code here, to run repeatedly: digitalWrite(random(3,13),HIGH); delay(250); digitalWrite(led1,LOW); digitalWrite(led2,LOW); digitalWrite(led3,LOW); digitalWrite(led4,LOW); digitalWrite(led5,LOW); digitalWrite(led6,LOW); digitalWrite(led7,LOW); digitalWrite(led8,LOW); }

this works well, however my goal is for a random 4 lights out of the 8 to light up with 250ms between each one which i have done but i want the programme to then pause/delay for 1000ms after the last light has come on before continuing with another random 4 lights coming on, i had looked on internet but its a mine field,like i said im new to the but confident in following instructions etc, any help would be much appreciated.

Have you tried putting a delay function at the end of the loop?

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  digitalWrite(random(3, 13), HIGH);
  delay(250);
  digitalWrite(led1, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led2, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led3, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led4, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led5, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led6, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led7, LOW);
  digitalWrite(led8, LOW);
  delay(1000);
}

Also, Please read “Read this before posting a programming question” at the top of the forum. And use CRTL-T when in the IDE.

First you need to learn a little bit about using arrays. You can put all your pins in an array and next you can iterate of the array and set the pinMode.

// the led pins