Random Numbers and LED

Good day to everyone,

Can someone help me with my code:

The goal of the program is to create a random number (0-3) and Light it up on an LED on (pin1, pin2, pin3) based on the random number output and must be continuous when I am pushing the button. The problem is ONLY One LED must light up on every cycle...........

AND while I release the pushbutton the last value of the random number must lit Up steady. .

The problem of my current code is when I start to push the button the loop does not stop even I release the button and no clearing of last State of LED is happening (multiple LED lights up).

Thanks for your help. Beginner Here :slight_smile:

LED 1= Pin1
LED 2= Pin2
LED 3= Pin3
Pushbutton= Pin 22
*Arduino Mega

int i;
int powerbutton;
int RandomSeq;
void setup() 
{
 for(i=0;i>=3;i++)
 {
  pinMode(i,OUTPUT);
 }
  pinMode(22,INPUT);
}

void loop() 
{
  powerbutton=digitalRead(22);
   while(powerbutton==1)
  {
   RandomSeq=random(0,3);
  digitalWrite(RandomSeq,1);
  delay(250);
  }

}

Normally you try to avoid using pins 0 and 1. Those are required for serial communication with the PC. If you have things plugged into those pins, you may need to unplug them to be able to reprogram the Arduino.

Set up an array of pins, so that you can refer to them as 0, 1, 2 but they might connect to totally different physical pins.

const int MAXLEDS = 3;
int LEDArray[MAXLEDS];
LEDArray[0] = 13; //built-in LED on pin 13
LEDArray[1] = 21; //obviously choose your own pin numbers to suit
LEDArray[2] = 2;
void setup() {
  for(int i=0; i<MAXLEDS; i++) {
    pinMode(LEDArray[i], OUTPUT);
  }
}

Your code writes “1” to the output pins, but you never write a pin back to 0. They will all eventually get turned on and never turned off. If you want only one LED to be lit, then you need to cycle through all the others and turn them off.

Then, because you never take another reading from the pin inside the while() loop, it can never exit that loop.