Random numbers to char array??

Hello all,

This is my first time ever posting a question, usually I go on a google/forum search to find my answer (usually works). But, I've come across an issue where I cannot find or I am just not understanding.

What I am trying to do is have a set of 10 randomize numbers which will be later used for a "Phone Number", so it will need to be within a char array. I've attempted to find an answer on how to convert/extrapolate the 10 digits from an int array so that it can be used for a char array, but to no avail. I also thought/looked into possibly working with String, since it seems a bit versatile. Again, I'm not sure how to incorporate the 10 digit random numbers ranging from 0-9.

Thanks for any advice, guidance, or information.

Cheers from Afghanistan!

This will fill an array with random numbers

char number[10]
  for(int i = 0; i<10; i++){
   number[i]= random(0,10); 
  }

Or if you want the ASCII value of these numbers then

char number[10]
   number[i]= 0x30 | random(0,10); 
  }

I guess you have a char array or String to hold the ten digits. (Personally I’d recommend the char array to avoid using the problematic String class.)

You can generate a random number in the range 0 … 9 by calling random(10). Note that the returned values will not be truly random unless you first call randomSeed() with a random value such as the result of analogRead() on an unconnected pin.

You would generate one random number for each digit you want. A for loop is the obvious way to do that.
Each random number needs to be converted to an ascii character in the char array or String. There are lots of different ways to do that but the simplest takes advantage of the fact that the ascii codes for the digits 0 … 9 are consecutive - if you just add your number (in the range 0 … 9) to the ascii code for ‘0’ you get the ascii code for the corresponding digit. e.g. ‘0’ + 3 gives you ‘3’.

const int length = 10;