RC Car - following tape using sensors

Hey guys, definitely a newbie here and I really don't know much about this stuff. I have a school project where we have to control an RC car autonomously. So my groups idea was to lay down tape and use sensors attached to the car to follow the tape. Is there a special sensor I need? Also, I don't know much about coding the car or anything so is there any advice on that that you guys have? Sorry for such a novice post. Thanks in advance.

Did it occur to you to try using Google to search for the information ?

I have already read that article. I just don't know what kind of sensor to get for it to be able to sense the tape. I literally know nothing about coding so I didn't know if I even need to code it or where to begin. I copied code to test the motor and it works fine. I just need to know what sensors to purchase and any tips on code to meet my goal.

Maybe one of these can help:
http://www.instructables.com/howto/line+follower/

Seriously, how long do you have to spend on this as to deadline weeks and hours per week?

No, you don't have to code the project. You could wire the thing directly, electro-mechanical, if the drive motor and steering are straight DC. But you would need to know or learn basic DC electric (which you would with a controller too) unless you can find a "cookbook recipe".

What is the object of the class project? Teach students to find and copy from the internet? Please if you could relay to your teacher that if that is so then the course is the kind of crap that's running the world to the trash heap, okay?

If you do have a long lead time then don't waste it because you have a lot to learn!

I don't know much about coding the car or anything so is there any advice on that that you guys have?

[ Is there a special sensor I need? ](http://Is there a special sensor I need?)

Can't help with the code. You'll just have to google it.