RC Control

I'm new to the Arduino platform, and I've yet to pick one up myself. It seems like it'd be really interesting, though.

What I want to be able to do is make a simple tiny robot driven by two servos and controlled by an RC remote.

While lurking, I came across a 433 MHz transmitter/receiver combo from RobotShop, which seems like it would be ideal. However, I don't have that frequency transmitter. Can I simply swap out the crystal on the receiver with one that I have from a Vex robot kit and use that remote control? Or use the receiver and transmitter from an old RC car? Would that be easy or tough to program? I've got a decent amount of experience in C, which is pretty much the same as wiring, right?

Can I simply swap out the crystal on the receiver with one that I have from a Vex robot kit and use that remote control?

Probably not. It depends on the design of the receiver. It is not normally the frequency of the receiver that is directly given by the crystal but the receive frequency plus an offset of the IF. This can be different on different designs.

Or use the receiver and transmitter from an old RC car?

You can but what are you going to do with the Arduino if it is all being controlled by remote?

I was planning on using the arduino for being the brains of the operation so I could do some more complex things than just simply using two motors.

I guess I worded it wrong. I simply wanted to use the receiver part of the RC car, not the whole "brains" of it.

There's really not much more "brains" to an RC car than the receiver itself. The receiver basically just translates the radio data into turning motors on and off. Of course there's typically some feedback from the steering servo, but that's very basic. How complex are you thinking of getting?