Rc controler

Hey guys im new to electronics and Im trying to find a way to control a rc truck that i have that i am going to basically using as a robot platform. But since im just starting out i am just trying to get the rc truck a controller that will eventually control other things on the bot. Im sorry if this is a stupid question but i have no experience in terms of Rc electronics and compatibility. The controller i have linked below i think is for rc planes its the type i like i cant stand the guns with the little wheel on it. Any help would be awesome thank you

Will the controller linked below work for an rc truck? I am using my own h bridges and everything i basically have a chassis with motors a streering servo and a battery.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/_8992__Turnigy_9X_9Ch_Transmitter_w_Module_8ch_Receiver_Mode_2_v2_Firmware.html

What does this have to do with Arduino?

It could work but it depends on the set up on your "robot." A schematics would be helpful! The remote will definitely be able to control the steering servo (the servo plugs right in to the receiver) but the motors are another story. I have no idea how you could control the h bridges with the receiver. I would just buy some ESC's for your motors instead of the h bridges.

The motors are brushed motors and i am going to connect the receiver to my Arduino i think, then control the bridge from there. As for schematics i dont have any. I am sorta build it step by step. This is more of an experimental project/learning project.

Now I get it!

Read the link below and you should be good to go!

https://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/348