RC Filter and Reading Battery Voltage - Arduino Pro Mini

Hi guys. I'm still a newbie in electronics and I'm trying to get my Pro Mini 5V to read the remaining voltage of the 3.7-4.2 V 18650 Li-ion battery powering it. The battery's (+) and (-) terminals are first connected to a step-up boost converter's input side to power the Arduino.

But for reading the voltage, I connected the positive terminal of the battery to one of Arduino's analog pins. My code snippet for reading battery voltage takes 20 analog readings from the pin, with a delay of 50 ms after each reading. The readings are totaled and averaged. However, the readings are very inaccurate with a difference of 1 V(max) in readings (w/o the caps I mentioned below).

I have an XBee S2 2mW, LM35, and some bypass capacitors in the ckt (I'll try uploading them later, net connection is very bad). I've used some capacitors, 1 nF and 10 nF between the analog pin and GNd and this is where readings seem to be somehow acceptable but not necessarily accurate (0.5V error max). I don't even know what I'm doing because of the information overload. Hahaha

I've been reading sources online which use RC filters, and I want to know about them. They were talking about samples per second, and the equivalent resistance and capacitance, etc. What do these things do to make readings more accurate and how? Since electronics isn't my forte nor I have some basic knowledge atleast in some of its concepts, what can I do to make the readings more accurate for my circuit?

Thank you. Sorry for the long post. I just want everything said and somehow made clear.

No circuit diagram, no idea! :roll_eyes:

However, the readings are very inaccurate with a difference of 1 V(max) in readings.

Then you have something seriously wrong with your setup. What that is is hard to say without full details but it might have something to do with the step up regulator.

but not necessarily accurate (0.5V error max).