rc interupt/over-ride autonomous robot

hello everyone. I am still a beginner with the Arduino and programming but getting very interested and excited, mine is going crazy with ideas.

I would like to right now build a simple robot that will work its way around a room, kinda look Roomba, I'm gonna probably "borrow" a lot of ideas from Roomba to be honest.

I woulud like it to on its own, work out a pattern to drive over all the room space, obstacle avoidance, etc..return to docking station to charger when battery gets to say 5%

i would like something else, more interesting, dunno if it can be done or how.

I would like the ability to take over or override the bots autonomous driving and use RC if i decided I wanted to drive it. Im not necessarily thinking an RC hand controller like you would use for a car, but maybe a nice web interface or something (puts this idea on an entirely different level i know), but i think it would be cool to sit back with my iPad and control it if i felt like doing so.

like i said i am very new to this, not a programmer so it will take me a while, and thats ok. Im kinda thinking something like this sorry that it doesn't conform to any standard code, still learning.

robot code

Loop ( drive autonomously

if then statement if pin 1 has signal, stop autonomous, RC takes over if pin 1 has no signal continue autonomous driving )end loop

and i was thinking run this code every second or so.

Let me know what you all think, where I can look for ideas and guidance, etc All comments welcome.

Thanks for your time.

You can do this. I am working on an autonomous drone and I can override it with RC. I am sure there are more than one way to do it. There are also several Ipod and Ipad apps that have controllers for remote control over wifi.

Dave