Re: how to read PWM signal from RC receiver

I realize this is an old thread and probably nobody is listening in here anymore but I have a question specific to the topic.

I'm totally new to Arduino and the like but had a thought on a fun project.

For it to work I need to learn how many seperate PWM (or PPM) channels one Arduino can monitor and (and modify) at one time. In most cases I only want to modify the signal and pass it along--either amplified slightly or dampened.

You would use any digital input pin with the pulseIn() function to read the output of the receiver. pulseIn() returns the width of the servo control pulse in microseconds (nominal 1000 to 2000 microseconds. Then, using the servo library, use servo.writeMicroseconds() to output the modified pulse to the servo. Be careful about the amplitude of the pulses from the receiver. If the receiver is powered by 6V the servo signal could damage a digital input. Make sure the pulse is no more than 5V amplitude (power the receiver with 5V if possible).

Thanks, GF.

So if I input 8 channels into an Arduino, I can process all 8 in real time?

A Uno has 11 available digital I/O pins (I don't count pins 0 and 1, RX and TX) and you can use the analog inputs as digital I/O so there should be enough pins. I don't know if the analog pins, set to be digital output, can be used with Servo library but they should work as inputs just fine. I am not sure what you mean by real time, but since the servo pulses (for each servo) are 20mS apart you should be able to. Also you only need to write a new value to a servo when it need to change position.

I guess by real-time I mean that I want to input the signals from up to eight inputs at once, process them to a percentage of their original ms value, and send them on to the intended servo in a semi-continuous loop.

Would you estimate that the delay in receiving, processing, and sending for eight inputs be in the very low millisecond range or significantly slower?