Re: LCD screen only showing blocks!

hey everyone im pretty new to arduino's and such, so i apologize if i dont know all the lingo and things yet. Heres my problem. I bought a 16x2 lcd screen from spark fun its model is GDM1620k that pdf is its specs. I've gone through alot of help articles on this forum and others but have yet to get it to work. I've tried different tutorials online about getting it up and going and still every time it just displays blocks. I have it set up right now as shown on the ladyada.net site below. So my wiring and code are exactly as shown on the site. Still all i get is solid blocks on both rows and across all 16 columns. any help would be greatly appreciated i can paste code and show pictures here but i figure they are already on the site so unless u really want them i'll just leave them there.. Thanks again! -Chase http://www.ladyada.net/learn/lcd/charlcd.html http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/LCD/GDM1602K.pdf

If you wired it as the ladyada article suggests she of course uses code and wiring different from the built in example.

The wiring in the ladyada article is matched by this line
LiquidCrystal lcd(7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12);

This link shows the syntax
http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/LiquidCrystalConstructor

/*
  LiquidCrystal Library - Hello World

Demonstrates the use a 16x2 LCD display.  The LiquidCrystal
 library works with all LCD displays that are compatible with the 
 Hitachi HD44780 driver. There are many of them out there, and you
 can usually tell them by the 16-pin interface.

This sketch prints "Hello World!" to the LCD
 and shows the time.

The circuit:
 * LCD RS pin to digital pin 12
 * LCD Enable pin to digital pin 11
 * LCD D4 pin to digital pin 5
 * LCD D5 pin to digital pin 4
 * LCD D6 pin to digital pin 3
 * LCD D7 pin to digital pin 2
 * 10K resistor:
 * ends to +5V and ground
 * wiper to LCD VO pin (pin 3)

Library originally added 18 Apr 2008
 by David A. Mellis
 library modified 5 Jul 2009