Read and display incoming Serial Data

Hello. I'm a complete beginner in Arduino programming. I'd like to ask your help on how do i construct a program that can read Serial data. I've connected the Tx pin of the device to the Rx pin of my Atmega328. The device manufacturer stated that its Output Format is Serial Data at 9600 baud rate(8 bits data, No parity, 1 stop bits), Outputs three parameters in ASCII. and i'd like to display it on my serial monitor. So how do i do it? thanks.. :slight_smile:

I've connected the Tx pin of the device to the Rx pin of my Atmega328. The device manufacturer stated that its Output Format is Serial Data at 9600 baud rate(8 bits data, No parity, 1 stop bits),

What is this device. It is possible that it could output RS232 voltages or TTL voltages. It is only TTL that you can directly connect to the Arduino.

how do i construct a program that can read Serial data.

Open up the Arduino IDE. From the file menu choose Examples -> 04 Communications then you will see a collection of examples to read serial data.

To display anything you need a display module like an LCD or OLED, make sure their is example code of how to use what you eventually buy.

The examples in Serial Input Basics should do what you require. The 2nd example will probably be the most suitable.

...R

Tan_koloy:
Hello. I'm a complete beginner in Arduino programming. I'd like to ask your help on how do i construct a program that can read Serial data. I've connected the Tx pin of the device to the Rx pin of my Atmega328. The device manufacturer stated that its Output Format is Serial Data at 9600 baud rate(8 bits data, No parity, 1 stop bits), Outputs three parameters in ASCII. and i'd like to display it on my serial monitor. So how do i do it? thanks.. :slight_smile:

Grumpy_Mike:
What is this device. It is possible that it could output RS232 voltages or TTL voltages. It is only TTL that you can directly connect to the Arduino.