Read input from Serial

I am rather new to Arduino and found a lot of tutorials which is cool.

I am also using the Serial to read some data I can send from the PC.
All the examples are something like this:

void readInput(){
   while(Serial.available() == 0){
     //DO nothing untill someone enters something in the serial
  } 
}

The problem with this should be rather obvious... It is blocking the controller until data is entered.

I have far more experience with development than with electronics so I was wondering could multithreading solve this problem? does the Arduino even support multithreading?

Is there maybe a library available that does this for me?

I was also thinking on using a push button I should press and then it will listen to the Serial and block the controller.

I have far more experience with development than with electronics so I was wondering could multithreading solve this problem? does the Arduino even support multithreading?

Yes, it could. No, it doesn't.

You don't have to block waiting for input, though. You can read and store data as it arrives. When the end-of-packet marker arrives, use the stored data, then reset the index and start collecting data again.

It is more common to use if(Serial.available() > 0) in the loop() function to detect bytes coming into the serial buffer. Then read the bytes into a buffer and process them. What kind of data is the Arduino receiving (string, integers, float values)? Is the data of fixed length or is it in a delimited packet?

Thanks.

Yes the if(Serial.available() > 0) worked for me.
In my case I only have to get a single char from the Serial so I now have following code which works fine:

void loop(){
   //some code
   getInput();
   //other code;
}

void getInput(){
  Serial.flush();
  if(Serial.available() > 0){
      answer = Serial.read();
      Serial.println(answer);
      delay(5);
  }
}