read pot help wanted

I am just getting started in the arduino world. one example i fount was how to get a read out on the serial monitor from a pot. so i copied down the code (and it is attached). when i uploaded the code, it worked, but the full range 0-1023 was in less then a tenth of a turn of the knob. so my question is: is the code specified for a certain sized pot? and if so how can i change it so it works more accurately with my pot? (10K ohm i believe) any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Read_Pot.ino (669 Bytes)

Did you attach the center pin of a potentiometer to pin A0, and the outside pins to +5V and ground?
You need a linear pot sounds like you have a audio taper pot.

Show us a drawing of your circuit with labeled values for components.
Show us a picture of your wiring.

i have an outer pin connected to my ground, then i have the middle pin connected to A0, and the other outer pin connected to 5v, as i was instructed

Show us a photo, not all pots have pins in that arrangement.

Or if you have a multimeter investigate the pot directly...

You want linear taper (A), not logarithmic (B) for all pots except
audio analog volume controls, generally speaking.

I know that it is difficult to see, and all the same color wire going into the arduino may also make it a bit harder to follow, but it is all i had.

What is the part number for your potentiometer? Where did you get it from?

Hi, have you got a multimeter to measure the resistance and voltages for us.
The resistance from one end terminal to the other for a start it should be 10K no matter where the pot is turned.
Between one end and the middle and it should vary form near zero ohms to near 10K.
Then try it from the other end and middle. This will show if you have a faulty pot.
Tom....... :slight_smile: