Read pressure sensor with oversampling

Hi guys, I am new to this stuff but i am very interested and i have jumped into a project where i want to read a pressure sensor, which i will utilize a calibration chart to scale the analog values , 0-5v, to a force value between 0 and 2500 pounds (i know, that’s a lot of force).

I would like to first make this happen with just a simple POT setup on one analog pin, because i am just in the beginning stages of building the rig that will have a bottle jack and i have not sourced the exact sensor i will use yet to monitor the hydraulic fluid pressure in the bottle jack.

I have read and have seen some sample code… but i have a hard time understanding that code and how to make it work for me. I want to be able to read and display in the serial monitor values in one pound increments from 0-2500. I think i need to have either a 13 bit or more ADC or do the oversampling (i would prefer this) to get to the resolution i need. For this application, i don’t expect there to be a lot of fluctuations in the sensor readings except while i am operating and applying more pressure to the bottle jack. I know the signal will need a certain amount of noise to function properly, so i am going to assume that i will have enough noise in the system for this to work well. If i don’t, i can always add in the noise.

Here is the code i saw someone else do but i cant get it to work with my extremely limited programming knowledge. For now i just want to get this working with a voltage divider POT circuit that will mimic the pressure sensor. I know there is a whole other thing to learn to get all this to display to an LED display later but i just want to get the data part working for now. Any help you guys can give would be greatly appreciated!

/*

#define BUFFER_SIZE 16 // For 12 Bit ADC data

volatile uint32_t result[BUFFER_SIZE];
volatile int i = 0;
volatile uint32_t sum=0;

ADC and Timer1 setup function