Read/Write Fuses on StandAlone ATMega328P

Hello everyone, I'm loosing my mind with this simple problem.

I've been working on project for several months and to speed-up the development and also gain more FLASH space, I started flashing the ATMega328P with an Arduino UNO with Arduino as ISP code loaded on it.

I cannot get the LowPower library (by Rocketscream) to work even when I've been using it on other projects, so I start thinking it could be related to the fuses.

I've read that when using Arduino as ISP to load the code it won't burn the fuses so I needed to burn a bootloader first I've already done this but the problem is still there.

So I read about using avrdude to read/write the fuses but I guess it's not working.

First I'd like to clear a doubt... if I use -c stk500v1 with avrdude command I'll read the fuses of the atmega328 on the Arduino UNO right? And in order to read the fuses of the standalone atmega328 I should use -c arduino, right?

Well this is what I get:

avrdude -c arduino -p m328p -P COM7 -b 19200 -v
LOW 0xFF
HIGH 0xDA
EXT 0x05

avrdude -c arduino -p m328p -P COM7 -b 115200 -v (note I've change baudrate to 115200 this was the only value that worked, don't know why)
LOW 0x00
HIGH 0x00
EXT 0x00

And when I try to write them using:
avrdude -c arduino -p m328p -P COM7 -b 115200 -U lfuse:w:0xFF:m

I get:
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
0xff != 0x00
avrdude: verification error, content mismatch

avrdude: safemode: lfuse changed! Was ff, and now is 0
Would you like this fuse to be changed back?

what is the meaning fuses?

sebasira:
I've read that when using Arduino as ISP to load the code it won't burn the fuses so I needed to burn a bootloader first I've already done this but the problem is still there.