Reading 10+ LDR with Arduino

Hey Folks,

I am brainstorming for a project that I am about to do, and It would need me to read 10+ LDRs. As There arent that many analogue input pins, whats the workaround that I can put to use? :(

Use a Mega

AWOL: Use a Mega

I am assuming there is a workaround than buying another Arduino. :~

AWOL: Use a Mega

Too expensive, and the guy already has an Arduino (not Mega, I suppose)

My suggestion is to use a multiplexer IC, like the CD4051.

Personally, I like and use the MAX4617 (datasheet)

External analogue muxes, like a couple of 4051.

Too expensive, and the guy already has an Arduino

He never stated that.

As There arent that many analogue input pins

By that, I meant I had an Arduino. Sorry for not making it clear. I have an Arduino UNO R3.

So a multiplexer is what I should use?

Since I am new to all these, can someone give me a little insight? a circuit diagram or something so?

Cheers! :)

http://playground.arduino.cc/learning/4051

Is this for a (low res) vision sensor?

I remember seeing something like that on BBC Click that controlled an array of mirrors (I think)

AWOL:
http://playground.arduino.cc/learning/4051

Seems like this is what I am looking for :smiley:

Can I breadboard it? or it should be bought as a chip? (For both saving money and for satisfaction of doing it.)

You can breadboard it with just the chip.

The CD4067 has 16 "inputs" if you need more than 8

MikMo: You can breadboard it with just the chip.

The CD4067 has 16 "inputs" if you need more than 8

8 would be fine, 16 would be better if there isnt much price difference with the chip.

Sorry for asking this, but I will appreciate a right circuit diagram for bread boarding it, because I am new to this. I tend to make mistakes when it comes to where I should be applying the voltage and so. (Happened before :D )

Thanks a lot :)

ADD : Or the 4051 would be fine because after a bit of reading, I see the 16 inputs one needs 4 pins from my arduino.