Reading a 10 pin 7 segment (2 digits) using Arduino uno. Please Help!

Hello everyone, thanks for taking the time to read this, I really appreciate it. I am very new to Arduino and the Micro controller world so please forgive my ignorance.

So I have an old dual 7 segment display that displays outside temperature, what i want to do is read the temp into the Arduino and light up an LED if the temperature gets high, and a different color if the temp gets low.

I know i can use a thermometer and plug it into the Arduino and go from there, but that would be cheating. So my question is, can i read each pin of the 7 segment display and translate that into a number into the Arduino?

please see pictures.

Any help would be very very appreciated!!

Thanks again for reading.

This last picture shows "21" using the code and set up on the above link. I want to jump another Arduino into the breadboard and read "21" or any other temperature (depends on outside thermometer) into the serial monitor. Now the challenging part is the code, Im not really good at coding but i understand if this had 1 pin for each LED i would just read each one and translate it into the serial monitor. However this only has 10 pins therefore represents a challenge.

Any input is greatly appreciated, I dont even know how to start.

If the display is multiplexed, meaning the anodes are share between digits and there is a common cathode for each digit (or shared cathodes, and a common anode per digit) then you will need a way to signal when to capture data. Perhaps use an interrupt from the 2 common signals to capture the state of the shared segments.

This is what i have, It is common anode. I'm not sure how to add an interrupt, I've been trying to just read high and low but I'm not having too much luck :/

Interrupt on pins 9 and 6 going Low to High.