Reading a decimal numbur using Bridge.Get() on the Arduino side.

Hi all.

This is my first post on the forum. I am new to Arduino and must say I love. So much you can do with this technology it boggles the mind.

OK so here is my question. I am using the the Bridge library to pass values between the 2 processors.
I can pass a float (2 decimal number) to the linux side and read it without any problem. But I am not able to read it with Bridge.Get() on the Arduino side. I am not sure what Char size to use.

I can see the values is correct when I use the url http://10.64.9.72/data/get/

Also I am not sure, but it seems slower if you use the bride library in Python than when you call http://10.64.9.72/data/get/.

thanks all. I hope somebody can help.

Code?

jfourie:
I am not sure what Char size to use.

The Bridge passes everything as strings, including your floats which are converted to string before being stored. The char buffer you use to read from the Bridge should be large enough to hold the largest possible value you are trying to read, plus at least one more character for the NULL string terminator. If it's too small, you will only read the beginning part of the string, and not the whole value.

Also I am not sure, but it seems slower if you use the bride library in Python than when you call http://10.64.9.72/data/get/.

I'm not quite getting what you're saying. Can you rephrase it?

Hi. Tanks for the reply. I understand it is strings. Not shure why the put is string but the get is char?

How big should the char be for 99.99
I get the value but I loose the decimal places.

My code is

Char ttemp[8];

Bridge.get("TTEMP", ttemp, 8);

Then i cast the char to a float.

For my second statement. I wrote a Paython script to get a value from the bridge. When I execute it it takes up to a second to run and to print the value to the command line. But if I open a browser and got to the /data/get/ url. It will show all the values without a delay. Its very fast.

jfourie: