Reading a pin in an ISR

Hello, I am a complete newbie to the Arduino. This is my first post I have a little programming experience in C++, I use VB at work.

I was thrilled to find this forum...

I would like to know how to check input pins during an interrupt. The quickest way possible.

I have the Arduino Mega and would like to use all 6 interrupts for 6 rotary encoders. I have read and somewhat some of the encoder messages.

I am trying to determine the amount of time an interrupt takes to see if it is feasible to read 6 encoders all possibly running at 16kHz.

Fastest way possible is using "direct port access"

SIGNAL(PCINT0_vect) {
  if (PORTB & 4) {
    upcount++;
  }
}

The ISR entry/exit code produced by the compiler is less than wonderful, however. (saves registers that don't need to be saved, etc.) 96000 interrupts per seconds makes for 166 cycles per interrupt. That's doable, I would think, but not "easy." The above skeleton of an ISR takes about 30 cycles, and you might be able to cut 10 cycles out of entry/exit. What else did you want the arduino to do?

Not to steal your thread, but I'm interested westfw in what methods you could use to cut clock ticks out of the entry/exit? I've got an app running that relies heavily on interrupts and I'm looking for any gains I can make in interrupt efficiency.

-Mitch

Write your own ISR in assembler?

damn.

It does look like AVR-gcc has some features designed to allow more efficient ISRs to be written. (I'm quite pleased to find these, BTW!) The following cuts the original example down quite a bit! (Note that the "meat" of the ISR code is still in C; the only assembler bits are "standard" code for enter an exit. (and that weird bit of global register variable declaration.))

volatile register byte upcount asm("r3");  // dedicated a register to ISR var

ISR(PCINT0_vect, ISR_NAKED) {
  asm( // Standard ISR entry, minus "known zero" setup
  "push r0\n"
    "in r0, 0x3F\n"  // Save status