Reading a switch - Ground loop problems?

Folks

Apologies but (as most posts seem to start) I'm a electronics newbie.

I trying to use a Arduino Nano to read a simple switch. I've followed the debounce example and it works fine when testing.

When I move to my live environment I run into problems. The solution needs to read from a medical video device and capture a trigger press.

Video is delivered as composite over coax to a USB based frame grabber. The trigger signal is also over a separate coax. Both USB devices are connected to the same laptop.

If I use a trigger other than from the medical device i.e. a foot pedal, it works fine. If I don't connect the USB frame grabber it works fine but if I connect both the trigger isn't detected.

I did some Googling and guessed that my problem was a ground loop issue? I got a ground loop isolator and put it in the path of the video feed and that fixed the problem so that seems to confirm it's a ground loop issue. However if I plug anything else into my laptop i.e. an external monitor, the problem recurs.

I'm not going to be able to isolate every device that will ever connect to my system from ground :o

I'm in the process of trying to get up to speed on ground loops and how to address them but I'm fairly time constrained hence the cry for help.

Can anyone suggest 1. Any method of reading the switch state that wouldn't be susceptible to the ground loop issue i.e. using analogue pins to read the state rather than digital? 2. Any way to address ground loop at a PCB level (I don't want a half-dozen box solution)? 3. Or does anyone think I'm barking up the wrong tree altogether with the ground loop thing? 4. Is sending the v+ down the shield of the coax to the switch in order to get it back when switched good (or at least acceptable) practice?

Many thanks

Tommy

As was suggested the optocoupler is a good idea.