reading and logging external mV source

Hi,
sorry if this will have a simple solution, but I looked in the reference section and couldn't find something similar. Also I'm not very good at electronics so I may get something wrong, please bear with me.

I need to read and log an output from a pachometer sensor that outputs a signal variable from 300 to 1300 mV DC. I need precision of at least less than 40 mV (I must be able to distinguish 320 mV from 360 mV). The output is through a 3.5 mm mono jack (so I have 2 wires).
I am aware of the Vref pin but I have only this signal on output so I don't have a max V to use, so I suppose I must read the deltaV between the 2 wires.

How do I do that? My first thought was of connecting the lower potential to the Arduino GND and then read the positive with an analog pin but it sounds a very bad thing to do (mixing the gnd of the 2 circuits I mean).

So my second guess is reading the lower potential with pin A0 and the higher with pin A1 and then by difference get the delta V I need.

Can this be done? My main concern is the time it may take to read the 2 pin thus becoming not simultaneous and giving incorrect values.

So I am asking if this can be done and how, I can then experiment with the output values to see if they'll fit my use.

thanks.

Please post a link to the product page or the data sheet for the sensor.
Note that voltage measurements cannot be made unless there is a common ground between a sensor and the measuring device.

i don't have a datasheet or I'd have posted it before, but the product is this: Protovale: The CM52 & CM9 CoverMasters

I have some data on the user manual, but unfortunately only in italian, here: Dropbox - Pacometro manuale uso.pdf - Simplify your life. the notes are on page 37-38 of the printed pages (39-40 of the pdf).

I'll try to give a roughly translated abstract here: