Reading Camera Pixel Data?

Hello everyone,

I am attempting a project for an upcoming science fair at my school that involves reading light signatures off of a spectroscope. My plan is to line up a camera attached to an Arduino to capture multiple rows of RGB pixel data and average them to get accurate spectroscope scale color data. I am wondering, since I believe it isn't possible to do this from a JPEG image file, how can I use a camera to capture pixel data directly from the camera and then process this information possibly as an array? If that isn't possible I'd like to then know how I can save the image as a file capable of storing RGB data for a few hundred pixels and then read it so it can be processed. Basically I'm trying to develop a program that reads spectroscope spectrums pixel-by-pixel.

I'm new to Arduino so any advice helps, thanks!

Maybe instead of a camera, try a single row ccd detector, like you'd find in a scanner. How wide is the spectrum you are trying to capture?

I couldn’t find a decent CCD sensor that would work with color images, but the sample size width doesn’t matter. The spectrum would range from violet to red. I think the more important thing that I would like to know is how to break down images from the camera into pixels.

Do you want to "break down a camera image into pixels" or read the values of a spectrum as intensity vs wavelength? The first one is not a good job for Arduino, it lacks the memory and speed to do that. The second is an Arduino-doable job, but you need to rethink how to do it.

how can I use a camera to capture pixel data directly from the camera and then process this information possibly as an array?

Pick a camera that allows access to the raw image data, and follow the directions.

However, keep in mind that getting absolute color/intensity information out of the individual RGB values per pixel requires a serious effort at calibration.