Reading Continuous Serial Packets

Hi All

Background: I'm a newbie to Ardunio. Please be patient. I'm an Avionics teacher at George T. Baker Aviation School in Miami, Florida USA. Please visit our web-site at http://www.bakeraviation.edu/ . My students and I are in the process of building a full motion Flight Simulator using Arduinos to capture motion data packets. See video of our Sim at http://alanmunoz.smugmug.com/Other/Thank-You-ISATAT/28097956_8pFXvM#!i=2374199097&k=dBXbrDp

This project is funded by ISTAT ( INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY OF TRANSPORT AIRCRAFT TRADING FOUNDATION), Miami Dade County Public Schools and The Ed-Fund. Most of the major mechanical aspect of the project is done.

We now beginning to start electrical aspects.

At present we are using MS X Sim software and BFF 6DOF Motion Driver V3.0 beta ( http://bffsimulation.com/6DOF-Motion-Software.php)which captures cues from MS-X. It sends out continuous actuator data in serial format (Bin) such as "AB" byte1 byte2 byte3 byte4 byte5 byte6 byte7 (CR), see ( http://bffsimulation.com/Manual-6DOF/Formats.php ).

We are looking to using 7 Arduino Megas in I2c configuration where there will be one master and six slaves, one for each actuator.

The Problem:

Currently we are using one master and one slave (connected to two different Laptops). I'm at work and don't have master and slave sketches with me. The master works like this, it clears the serial buffer and begins to look for the character "A" once found it reads off each character there after which are turned into integer for each actuator. Act1 data is sent across the I2c to slave 1. Slave 1 prints out the data on it's serial monitor. Initially on the slave monitor when first starting out, I can see the proper data values (53), then it begins to show what i call out liars randomly. Such (65) which is the "A" or "B" (66) or even a "CR" (13).