Reading data from 3.5mm jack

Hello everyone,

Pretty new to the world of Arduino. I have had some experience with electronics in the past but I'm starting from scratch again.

My current project is to read the data from remote control (physical) that's intended for a Sony Marine Head Unit. This is the remote http://www.rcjoycon.com/default/menu_11.php?com_board_basic=read_form&com_board_idx=57&menu=11&&com_board_search_code=&com_board_search_value1=&com_board_search_value2=&com_board_page=&.

What I want to be able to do is to connect the remote to my Arduino and be able to read the data that the remote is sending. As you can see from the pictures, the remote has a 3.5mm audio jack that it uses to connect.

Does anybody have any recommendations or tips on how to proceed? Is this feasible?

Thanks in advance, I'm super excited!

You need to know what type of signal you're getting on that jack plug. Since it appears to be designed to control a music system, perhaps it's a standard format. For example, it might be a serial data stream. In that case, once you know the signal levels you could connect it to a serial port and look for the serial settings that are needed to receive the signal. Once you manage that, you can try to figure out how the button presses are encoded on the serial stream. Perhaps it works like a keyboard, sending a sequence of scancodes. But it could be completely different, and it may not be a serial device at all.

so all resistance type remote controller works. (0~100k ohm resistance output remote controller do not need adjustment.)

This is usual resistance-output steering wheel handle remote controller's circuit. You can put additional buttons like green box below by DIY, if you want. http://www.rcjoycon.com/base_3/menu_10.php?com_board_basic=read_form&menu=10&com_board_idx=9

you can read by using the ADC pin.

BillHo: so all resistance type remote controller works. (0~100k ohm resistance output remote controller do not need adjustment.)