Reading data from an external IC with the provided clock signal

Hello everybody,

I'm trying to interface my arduino uno with an spirit1 rf transceiver. I use SPI pins to set register values and read data. However, the spirit1 has GPIO pins on which it is possible to write data to be transmitted and read received data. The spirit1 provides a clock signal on one of the gpio pins to sync with the MCU. Here what the datasheet says "the packet bits are continuously written to one of the GPIO
pins without any processing. To allow the synchronization of an external data sink, a
data clock signal is also provided on one of the GPIO pins. Data are updated by the
device on the falling edge of such clock signal so the MCU must read it during falling
edge of CLK."

I'm a novice in electronics. Can somebody help me to read the data from the gpio of this ic?

Here is the datasheet: http://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/datasheet/68/6c/7b/ec/b2/6b/49/16/DM00047607.pdf/files/DM00047607.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00047607.pdf

Thanks in advance.
Onil.

From a quick overview of the datasheet I would say that you can read the data using the SPI interface. Why do you want to use the low level interface using the GPIOs when you have the SPI interface which is supported directly by your Arduino?

Hello pylon,

Thanks for you replay. As you can see from the data sheet, the spi module have 8 pins for IO. 4 of them are SS, MOSI, MISO and SCK which i have already connected to my Arduino. With those pins i'm able to set registers of the IC. As you can see, there are 4 more pins, which are GPIOs and i need to read data from 2 of those pins. On one pin it will provide the clock signal and on the other the data. So, i can connect GPIOs to the SPI line, or is it possible?

Thank you.
Onil.