Reading data from parallel port interface

I am a newbie to the Arduino and I hope to get help from you guys.

I tried to read the parallel data from a machine with the Arduino Mega board. The handshaking connection looks working well. I got the data, but only a few characters look right and other characters are off on the last 4 bits. For example, the data is supposed to be 7, which is b0011,0111. But it shows as 0011,1100 (>) or 0011,1111(?). I could not get the pattern of error, I can only ensure that the first 4 bits are always correct.

Does anyone have the same experience before? I really have no clue for debugging? I have double checked the wirings on these 8 data bits lines. And I tried with different baud rate and delays. The problem cannot be fixed.

The codes are from Ecirbaf in this forum. I did not change the codes at all. And the pin connections are similar. Instead of the “selected” pin, I connected the Vcc pins from the machine to the Vin pin in Arduino board.

/********************************************************************************
 * PrinterCaptureInterrupt.ino
 * ------------------
 * Monitor a parallel port printer output and capture each character. Output the 
 * character on the USB serial port so it can be captured in a terminal program.
 * By............: Paul Jewell
 * Date..........: 29th January 2015
 * Version.......: 0.1a
 * Modification : Change Interrupt Routine so Arduino respond "faster" to Printer
 *                Writing Busy Signal directly from interrupt routine
 *                Ecirbaf 12 Jan 2017
 *                Test on a PC with a "generic Printer Text only" printer
 *                Printing a test page OK
 *                Even if using somme accent characters
 *                Depend How your Terminal Software is handling that.
 *-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 * Wiring Layout
 * -------------
 * Parallel Port Output               Arduino Input