Reading multiple frequency

Hi all,
Apologies if this is a very basic question as I am a complete noob to the microprocessor world. I am looking at a project to measure turbo speed. I have always used Garrett or borgwarner gauges off the shelf but I am doing my own installation this time and want to do it a little differently.

The installation will see me have twin VNT turbos on a Nissan TD42 engine. Being variable nozzle turbos, I need to make sure they are boosting the same as I can’t have any cavitation which will cause cartridge damage. The turbo controls will be all mechanical and the Arduino will just be for tuning/monitoring.

I plan to monitor a maf sensor on the intake of each turbo and that seems fairly simple and achievable but I would also like to measure turbine speed as well and that’s where I get a bit lost.

I know that the commercial units use an induction sensor on the compressor wheel and it pulses every time a vane passes the sensor and I plan to use the exact same inducers on my project. I also know that the maximum turbine speed will be around 130,000 rpm for that size turbo and that means I will be trying to read 130,000x9vanes is 1,170,000pulses per minute or 19,500per second (19.5khz). Keep in mind I need to read 2 of these at the same time and refresh the display probably every second.

I want to learn how to do it on my own but I would really like to know if it is possible and the best direction to start researching. Thanks in advance for all the help.

Neglecting the potential need to condition the inductor outputs to a suitable range for the microcontroller (5V or 3.3V) and maybe square the signal.
A couple of options would be to either use the inductors connected to a couple of external interrupt pins that have code to count rising/falling signal edges. Or have the inductor inputs connected to timer counter pins so you use a hardware timer to count edges.

Hi Riva,