Reading pulse width data

I'm just starting on a project that will need to read a series of 5v pulses. I've got a sign that lights up the numbers for a BINGO game. From looking at the data that is sent to the sign (called a Flashboard) on the oscilloscope, the sign receives the data as a stream of 5v pulses, with a pulse for "B", 15 pulses for 1-15, then a pulse for "I", then another 15 pulses for 16-30, and so on. If the number or letter is to be lit, the pulse is about 40 microseconds, and if unlit, about 10 microseconds, and these all have 10 microseconds between them. The data stream is 128 pulses each time, which includes some data I don't need at the end and can ignore.

What I need to do is start reading at the beginning of the stream, then store all the pulse widths, or at least 1 or 0, to an array. I know I have to look for the ~90 millisecond interval between pulse streams to determine where to start reading. I was a programmer decades ago, but suffered some brain damage since then and am trying to re-learn a lot, I think. My approach so far is something like this:

Watch for the (relatively) long LOW state to start waiting for pulses (to make sure I'm not starting in the middle of a pulse stream

Use pulseIn to get the high time of each pulse, storing that to an array

Manipulate the data from the array, then wait for another long LOW to prepare to read again

Does this sound like a practical approach? Can pulseIn handle 10 usec pulses? I'll be happy starting out if I can just recognize the start of each cycle, then building from there. Any hints?

10us is quite short for a 16MHz Arduino. Its only 160 clock cycles, 160 machine instructions at most. It might work, but will require some very careful C coding, or perhaps even some assembler coding.