Reading Raw Voltage Spikes

Disclaimer: I am extremely new to the world of electronics. So if this is a dumb question I apologize ahead of time.

I would like to make an electronic governer for an engine so I can adjust it as I please. To do this I need to read the engines RPM and the best way I can think to do this is by reading the voltage spikes every time the coil fires the spark plug. This pulse would be somewhere under 12V and I'm not sure what the amperage would be but it shouldn't be more than 10 at the very maximum. How would I read this spike in voltage? Is there a sensor I need to buy or can I just directly hook it up to my MEGA? Would I need to put some resistors in the line first to lower the spike to safe levels? How much current and voltage can a MEGA take? Any input is helpful.

What model of engine do you have?

It's an old fashioned flathead 1 cylinder in an old tractor.

Safest option would be to use an inductive pickup to sense the passing of the gear teeth or spokes on the flywheel, or any other mechanical part that moves several mm during each crankshaft revolution.

Flubbermister:
Disclaimer: I am extremely new to the world of electronics.
[...]
I would like to make an electronic governer for an engine

I seriously suggest you start with the beginnings in this case. Such as blinking an LED, reading a button.

This doesn't at all sound like a beginner's project - meaning the most likely result you have is utter failure. While if you build up your knowledge foundation first, you get a much better chance of success in the end. Lots of tricky bits in coding, sensing, wiring it all up so it doesn't fall apart the moment you start up the engine, etc.