Reading Rfid on Arduino Micro

Good evening

I am relatively new to arduino micro and completly new to the subject of reading something else then HIGH or LOW from a pin. I have to read from an rfid-reader which is connected to pin 4, which should be the TX pin if i got that right. I have to compare those readings to constants and then, if one of them matches to one of the 2 constants. led's on the pins 8 and 10 should light, depending on which one was matching. The part i would need help with is the reading of the rfid uid from the pin. I am searching the board for like 2 hours now and i didn't find anything. It would be really nice if you could give me a hint how i should do that.

Best regards Nodua

What RFID reader are you using? How is it wired? What code do you have so far?

Sorry about the lack of information. I just got assinged to this project so i have like nothing if it comes to code. Anyway, here's what i've got so far:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(4, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  int data = digitalRead(2);
  Serial.println(data, DEC);
}

In the Serial Monitor i get spammed with 0's right now, which isn't a big suprise. It's like nothing but i've like never used arduino before so i guess im making babysteps. I got told that the RFID-reader is called "SM2300". Although i cant tell you how its wired. The one which wired it told me the UID will be sent to the pin4 and i "just" have to read it from there. He's already at home so i cant ask him for like a plan or something, but, in theory, the hardware shouldn't be a problem.

I've already looked into digitalRead but it appears to me i can only read HIGH or LOW from it. Is there any way i can put it into a buffer and convert that to hex or even to ascii?