Reading the output of an RTD PT1000

Hello,

I am trying to read a voltage from a voltage divider, in which one of the resistors is an RTD.
I can do it, but the voltage readings oscillate a bit, so I don't get a very stable reading.

Because I am new to this kind of sensor, I was wondering if it is normal, or if there is a better circuit for reading a value related to the Resistance in the RTD. I am using a two wire RTD (the most innaccurate), and read on the net that it is common to use a wheatstone bridge to read a voltage. Can this be a better solution ?

Thanks,
Regards

There are many things influencing your results.

• how stable is the voltage of your circuit?
  • what reference voltage are you using?
  • temperature fluctuations
  • coupling of signals into your sensing circuit.
  • the components you are using
  • what range is the input signal at your ADC. You want the signal to swing the whole range inside your applications temperature range. e.g. you do not measure body temperatures with a sensor that measures across 1000 degrees.

To figure out whether the results you are getting are within reason we need the circuit diagram with values for the resistors, what Arduino you are using and the results you are getting.

Simply reading an RTD with a pull up resistor and Arduino's A/D will have a poor temp resolution.
The sensors need a special (digital) breakout board.
Leo..

Hello,

I am aware that there are already available solutions for signal conditioning the output of the
RTD. But I was trying to do it by myself in order to learn something from it.
The schematic of the voltage divider is attached to this post.
Edit : The resistor value is 10K not 1K.

The top resistor is 10K Ohm. The bottom one is the RTD. The circuit is being supplied with the 5V from the Arduino Uno board. The V0 wire is being fed to the Analog 0 input of the Arduino. The ground is also from the Arduino.

Thanks,
Regards