Real time communication with ArduinoUNO from PC app

Hello guys,

I'm quite new to arduino, I'm basically developing a simple range finder, I have most of the things up and running, however I'm struggling with one thing:

I'd like to 'initiate' the my laser range finder through USB connected to my PC, e.g in my C++/Java app start the measurements and receive the data, is that even possible? I can imagine that I would have to develop some sort of external api on arduino for it, right?

Thanks, Szymon

I'd like to 'initiate' the my laser range finder through USB connected to my PC, e.g in my C++/Java app start the measurements and receive the data, is that even possible?

Yes, it is possible.

I can imagine that I would have to develop some sort of external api on arduino for it, right?

I think protocol (a way to exchange information in a meaningful way) is what you need, not an API. You are not going to call a function on the Arduino from the PC.

I can imagine that I would have to develop some sort of external api on arduino for it, right?

I think protocol (a way to exchange information in a meaningful way) is what you need, not an API. You are not going to call a function on the Arduino from the PC. [/quote]

To some extent I'd like to call a function, e.g. to change servo angle, switch laser on and off etc.

To some extent I'd like to call a function, e.g. to change servo angle, switch laser on and off etc.

I'm sure you would. That's just not possible. You can have a function on the PC called setServoAngle() or setDigitalPin() or whatever you like. What these functions need to do, though, is send messages to the Arduino telling it to do something. Those messages are defined in the protocol.