Real-time control from a PC?

I'm really new to this, but I'll lay out my intentions from the beginning.

I'm Trying to build a program and interface tool that has 3722 timed events over seven and a half minutes, I don't believe even a tenth of that would fit on the 8K arduino chip.

So my solution is to use the arduino as an interface, build the program and file and run it from my PC. Is it possible to do this real-time sending each event exactly timed?

Any help or input would be greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

There isn't room in the Arduino's internal memory to store all those events, but there are a number of ways to implement your application. You could send the data to a PC or store it on an external memory EEPROM or memory card.

To decide on how to implement the application on the arduino, some information on the nature of the data is needed. What is the minimum acceptable precision needed in the timing data, what is the shortest time between two consecutive events, and are thee events evenly spread over time or do they occur in bursts?

What is it you are measuring?

I'm making a Guitar Hero Bot, the nature of the data is such that I need to close the gates of the finger buttons and strum bar with relative precision. Although the GH3 precision is fairly forgiving, I'm sure the arduino can handle it.

It should be noted that I'm not using this to cheat, but simply to build my arduino knowledge, and to see if I can.

The events are exactly like the notes of a song, there is a rigid timing structure, but the events are of 6 different types.

Thanks mem, every bit helps.

So if I understand the app, it sounds like you have over 100ms between the closest spaced events. This is plenty of time to send the data to a PC or to write it to external memory. You would also have time to do some processing of the event in the arduino before storing if you wanted to.