really dumb question

hey guys i'm new to electronics and I am messing around a bit with a bread board, led's and resistors.

I am trying to come up with a soil moisture sensor so I fastened 2 wires very close together and wired it up to a 9volt bat.
i placed the sensor in water and the led was very dim. so.. I upped the power.
I attached a laptop power pack and to be safe, I checked the volts. it was 19.5 volts. I then tested the volts after a couple of resistors(1/2watt, 100ohm/ each) and i thought that would lower the volts but it didnt. i placed my sensor in water again and it was a bit brighter than before.

so why didn't my voltage drop?
will this burn out my led (5v, 20mA, 4.0mcd, blinking led)?

figuring the answer will have to do with resistors lowering amps not volts

thanks

Volts, Amps and Ohms are all related. Read about "Ohm's Law".

In the case you tested, the voltage across a part of a circuit depends on the relative resistance of that part of the circuit. The meter has a VERY high resistance (a.k.a. impedance), therefore almost ALL of the voltage in your circuit is going through the meter.

You should try Google (or Bing) to find moisture sensor circuits that you can emulate.

thanks so much for your help.

Here's a good example: http://www.cheapvegetablegardener.com/2009/11/how-to-make-cheap-soil-moisture-sensor-2.html

A moisture sensor in the site use the "voltage divider" principle. A voltage diver is a potentiometer, the middle connector is the voltage you to measure, as long the other connector have a + V ( 5 V ) and the other end connector is connect to ground.

So the moisture sensor is the same idea. It only have a fix resistor in serie with the a metal probe and the other probe connect to gnd. So when the resistance between the metal probe change, so the voltage is changing.

openbahr:
led (5v, 20mA, 4.0mcd, blinking led)?