really stumped on the logic of creating as many squares as possible...

I am trying to do something perhaps simple yet complex…

Process:

I start processing
I am queried for how many rectangles I want
I enter a number such as 5
Processing creates 5 rectangles 50 pixels apart, if the width isn’t enough to have all 5 rectangles in one row then another row is created under
I should have 5 rectangles

I am really confused because I am a beginner to processing and never really had to think so deep about such problems…

I have been trying this:
void setup()
{
size(600,600);
//I choose 100 as the number of elements because I assume that anymore elements than this are too small to be visible on the screen,
//I am aiming to draw a typical rectangle that is 50 pixels in width and 70 pixels in length.
distances = new float[100][100];

}

float distances;

void draw()
{
inputWidths=(width/amountRecs)-50;
inputHeight=(height/amountRecs)-50;

background(255,255,255);
for(int i=50; i<height; i+=50) {
for(int j=50; j<width; j+=50) {
distances[j] = ;

• }*
    }
    }
    so basically, amountRecs is the amount of rectangles the user wants from user input.
    inputWidth and inputHeight are subtracted by 50 for that padding space between each rectangle.
    Now this is where I am stuck…from what I THINK, I should be using multidimensional arrays to generate the x and y for each rectangle
    but my problem is I dont know how to create as many rectangles as I can that will fit the screen width and then move to the next row.
    Goal:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/845/foods.png/

Why don't you ask on the Processing forum rather than a forum devoted to a completely different subject?

Please post your code in a code box, so we can actually read it. Modify your original post, select the code, and delete it. Then, select the icon (above) with the # sign on it, then paste your code again.