Receiving integer from Serial, then using it in a Do:While Loop?

Forgive me if I don’t use all of the correct terms, I’m pretty new at this.

My Goal:

1. The sketch sends 0x01 (1) over Serial, then waits until it receives 4 bytes in return, then stores those bytes in an array. For this testing purpose those bytes are 2,0,1,3 (ie, the year). This works.

2. The sketch then sends 0x02 (2) over Serial, then waits until it receives 1 byte and then stores that byte as an integer. This byte is supposed to correspond to the number of bytes that will be received in Step 3. For this testing purpose that integer needs to be 8, but when the sketch is in use that number could be any number between and including 1 and 32. This is where I’m having problems.

3. The sketch then sends 0x03 (3) over Serial, then waits until it receives the number of bytes set out in Step 2. It then stores those bytes in a character array. For testing purposes, in this case I use: J,i,m, ,B,e,a,n.

4. This step prints the two arrays and one integer to Serial to confirm that it worked. In the larger code that this will be used in, the integer and arrays will be written to a RFID card.

I can manually define int nameLength = 8; and then everything prints out as it should. However, if I define nameLength as 0, and then try to use the received byte from Serial, it doesn’t work. I’m sure I’m missing something simple, but I’m just not seeing it.

The code is as follows:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

#define A_SIZEOF(array)     (sizeof(array)/sizeof(array[0]))

const uint8_t   pinTX                   = 6;                     // SoftwareSerial transmit pin
const uint8_t   pinRX                   = 7;                     // SoftwareSerial receive pin
const uint8_t   RFID_READ               = 0x01;                  // Parallax RFID read command
const uint8_t   RFID_WRITE              = 0x02;                  // Parallax RFID write command
const uint8_t   GET_CODE                = 0x01;