recemendation for prototyping parts

Hello, first arduino project for me. I plan on building a small DMX light board using the info on Arduino:playground/Learning/DMX The goal of the first project is 3 faders, 4 or 5 pots, and some buttons in a housing.

I have a strong back ground in electronics and computers so no worries on the design and programming part. What I am new at is building prototype boards. I was hoping to use a bread board but I fear that the pin out of the faders will not lend them selves to a breadboard lay out in the way I hope. So I may have to use round pots for proof of concept and then build the faders into an enclosure.

So far I have as my shopping list: seedmega dangershield breadboard screw terminal wings shield Arduino Nano USB pots (Digikey P3G7103-ND) (guessed based on similar specs to the fader) faders (Digikey PP1045SD-ND) some DMX / rs485 driver chips other little bits as needed

The mega and dangershield are for getting started with some smaller programs to get my feet wet. I also plan on using the mega for main prototyping work and then transferring to smaller boards for the finished project. Assming I stay withing the limits of the smaller boards. How much trouble should I expect transferring the program from the mega with rotary pots or the dangershiled to the usbnano with digikey faders and pots? Any recommendations for breadboard friendly faders and pots?

Thank you.

I'm trying to build something very similar. You should check out a rotary encoder. It might be a cheaper and more convenient way to control everything.

If you decide to stick with the faders, for experimentation purposes, I would get a small piece of thin hobby plywood, and mount the faders onto the plywood, then mount the plywood onto a temporary enclosure (even a cardboard box would do). Solder the fader's pins to a length of ribbon cable or other wire to bring the pins out to connect the breadboard and then the Arduino.