Recognizing SD Card Problem

I'm using an Arduino Uno, connected to a lcd display and an Adafruit mini SD card reader.
I started out with the example program 'CardInfo" and all worked well.

Then I tried using the example programs for Read/Write (as well as some others) and nothing else worked.
I keep getting errors that no card is present, or that chip select is wrong, etc.
(I am using pin 6 for both the CardInfo and for the others.)

The major program difference seems to be that CardInfo verifies a chip by using and interrogating the statement:
card.init(SPI_HALF_SPEED, 6) [chip select is wired to 6]
while all the others use:
SD.begin(6)

My wiring is somewhat longish and sloppy. (About 6 to 10 inches for some wires.)
I am relatively new to this stuff, and I don't really have a good appreciation of what is actually going on.

My first thought (after exhaustive tests with various software statements) is that the method used in CardInfo is running at a slower speed, and that I am simply lucky that it's slow enough to accommodate my sloppy wiring.

If this is so, I can neaten up things considerably - but at some considerable effort. If the problem lies elsewhere, I'd like to know - and to take a different route so I can just get on with the programming..

Any ideas?

• Matt

Use shorter wires or make everything half speed.

Thanks for the suggestion.
In the interim I shortened all wires, (max length 2 inches) and put a cap across the power supply leads.
Same result! (Also tried re-assigning and re-wiring the CS pin - same result.)

I think all the wiring is OK.
I don't really understand what the "SD.begin" line actually does.

Any further ideas?

mattbaum:
I don’t really understand what the “SD.begin” line actually does.

The same as how CardInfo starts:

• Initializes the card into SPI mode (card.init()); it defaults to full speed if not specified.
  • Finds and mounts the first partition with a FAT filesystem (volume.init()).