Recommendation for Hall Effect Sensor

I am working on a precision position project and I am looking for advice regarding the selection of a Hall Effect Sensor. The sensor will be placed anywhere from 0.5 to 1 cm away from a magnet with a north and a south pole. When the sensor is moved over either pole I need it to send a signal to the Arduino Mega 2560 for processing prior to sending a signal to the actuator. I plan to power the sensor from the 5V supply of the board. I am pretty new to sensors and circuits.

What I am looking for:
Small and Compact
Sensing from 0.5 to 1 cm away
Sensing from 0 to 10,000 Gauss
Linear
Bipolar

Questions:

-Is there any advantage of digital vs. analog sensors? I think I will go with digital because I care about north or south poles, and a magnitude of 0.

-I found a few sensor for precision measurement but they were expensive (over 200 USD). Is it possible to use a more affordable sensor since it will be positioned so close the magnet it needs to read?

Some I have considered so far:

Expensive:
-Honeywell SPS-L075-HALS

-Honeywell SPS-L225-HALS

Affordable:
-Honeywell SS360NT

The analog hall sensors can also sense North and South.
An analog sensor is easier to start with, you don't have to communicate with the sensor.

For accurate temperatures (DS18B20) or baromic pressure (BMP085) I would advice a digital sensor. It is far more accurate. But to only detect something, analog is easier.

Some hall 'sensors' are hall switches. They switch the output at a certain level.
These are switches:

If you want to measure the level and also North and South, those are often ratiometric or linear.
They are 4 dollars for 10 of them on Ebay.
You have to read the datasheets to see if they have the range you need.

played with a hall effect some time ago - Arduino Playground - Hall Effect -